What is a security key and how can I use one on Workplace?

Security keys are part of an extra security feature called two-factor authentication. If you own a Universal 2nd Factor (U2F) compatible security key and add it as an authentication method, you can use it when logging into your Workplace account from a computer or mobile device we don't recognize. Using a security key adds another layer of protection to help keep your account safe.
Keep in mind security keys only work with certain web browsers and mobile devices, so you'll also need to have another authentication method, such as a mobile phone or verification code generator.
Security keys can only be used as a secondary authentication method. To set up your security key, you must already be using text message authentication or a verification code generator. You must also be logged into Workplace from a computer.
Adding a Security Key
To add or use a security key, you'll need to be using the latest version of Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Edge.
On a supported browser:
  1. Click your profile picture in the bottom-left of Workplace.
  2. Click Settings, then click Security and Login.
  3. Scroll down to Use two-factor authentication and click Edit.
  4. Under Add a Backup Method, find Security Key and click Setup.
  5. Follow the on-screen instructions to enroll your security key.
After successfully adding your security key, it will appear with the name you've given it in your Security Key section.
Using your Security Key
If you have two-factor authentication turned on and added a security key, the next time you log into Workplace from a supported browser on an unrecognized device you'll be asked to tap your security key.
If you don't have your security key or it isn't working, you can click Use a different method to log in using one of your other authentication methods, such as a mobile phone or verification code generator.
If you lose your security key, delete it from your list of approved security devices. You can do that by going to Security and Login Settings and deleting it from your two-factor authentication options.
Was this information helpful?