Create and run multi-company groups to collaborate with people outside of your company's Workplace.
Multi-company groups (MCGs) allow people from multiple organizations to collaborate. They can be secret or closed.
- Secret multi-company groups are visible to company admins, group members and people who have been invited to the group.
- Closed multi-company groups are visible to company admins, group members, people who have been invited to the group and anybody who's a member of a company in the group. You can invite people to a closed multi-company group by sharing a link.
All information shared inside a multi-company group can be seen by all members of the group, including members from other companies.
Note: Members of multi-company groups can't see any content in another company's Workplace community.
Learn how to create a multi-company group on Workplace.
Multi-company chats (MCCs) allow people in multi-company groups (MCGs) to chat, video and voice call in 1:1 or group threads. Users need to meet some requirements to use multi-company chat:
- They need to be in the same multi-company group.
- They need to have a verified domain (their domain has to match their company's verified domain).
- They can't have changed their name in the last month.
Once the person accepts your message request, you'll be able to:
- Search for that person in Workplace and Workplace Chat.
- Start a chat, call or video call with the person.
- See a message's status (delivered or read; this is applicable to both people in the chat).
- Add the person to a group chat.
Synced multi-company chat
When you create a standard or multi-company Workplace group, you will have the option to create a synced group chat.
Synced group chats automatically contain all members of your multi-company group. If a member leaves the group, they'll simultaneously leave the chat. If a group member leaves the chat, however, they won't leave the group.
Unlike manually created multi-company chats, inviting someone to a multi-company group with synced chat enabled will not send them a message request. Instead, they will receive a group invite and will be automatically added to the chat if they accept.
Group admins can disable this feature at any time from the group's settings. Keep in mind that for synced chat to work, the group will need to have less than 250 members.
You'll see the option to create a multi-company group (MCG) when creating a new group.
Note: You can't create a multi-company group from a browser on your mobile device.
Adding people to a multi-company group
If you're a member of a multi-company group (MCG), you can add coworkers to the group in the same way that you would add coworkers to other Workplace groups.
To invite people from other companies, enter the email address linked to their Workplace account. By default, multi-company group admins must approve any new members who are invited to the group.
If the group is a closed multi-company group, you can invite people by sharing an invite link. You can find invite links at the right of the group page when viewing Workplace from a computer.
Note: If you invite someone to a multi-company group whose company is not yet using Workplace, you won't be charged as they'll be set up on a 30-day free trial of Workplace Advanced.
Number of group members
There is no limit to the number of companies or people that can be part of a multi-company group (MCG). Keep in mind that we designed this product for medium-sized teams from a small number of companies to work together.
A multi-company group (MCG) will be deleted automatically if all of its members leave the group. A group admin has the ability to remove everyone from the group and then themselves in order to delete the group.
There are 2 privacy options for multi-company groups (MCGs): Closed and Secret. The table below shows who can join these groups and what people can see about them.
|Closed MCGs||Secret MCGs|
|Member approval||Any member can add members, but an admin or a moderator must approve them||Any member can add members, but an admin or a moderator must approve them|
|Posting permission||Members, moderators and admins can post to the group||Members, moderators and admins can post to the group|
|Post approval||Posts don't need to be approved by an admin or a moderator||Posts don't need to be approved by an admin or a moderator|
|Who can join?||Any member can add members to the group, but an admin or a moderator must approve them||Any member can add members to the group, but an admin or a moderator must approve them|
|Who can see the group's name?||Anyone from your company||Current and former members|
|Who can see who's in the group?||Anyone from your company||Only current members|
|Who can see the group description?||Anyone from your company||Only current members|
|Who can see the group tags?||Anyone from your company||Only current members|
|Who can see what members post in the group?||Only current members||Only current members|
|Who can find the group in search?||Anyone from your company||Current and former members|
|Who can see group events?||Only current members||Only current members|
Keep in mind that once a group is created, it can't be converted to a multi-company group and vice versa.
Multi-company group (MCG) admins must approve new members of multi-company groups by default.
Keep in mind that multi-company group admins can turn off admin-approvals for new members in the group's settings. If the setting is turned off, anyone can add new members to the group without admin approval.
If the group is a closed multi-company group and the admin disables approvals for new members, then anyone with a group invite link will be able to join the group without admin approval.
When you invite somebody to a multi-company group, the person's admins will be able to access data in the group.
No. Each member of a multi-company group uses their own Workplace account within the group, and members of the group don't see any other content in another company's Workplace account. Learn more about multi-company groups.
You may see that you can tag members of an MCG that you're a part of within your private company Workplace groups. The tag will appear as gray, so even if you do tag members outside of your company in a post within your company Workplace, they will still not have access to it.
How can you tell if a member of a multi-company group on Workplace is an employee of another company?
Members of a multi-company group (MCG) will have a multi-company group symbol next to their name. If you hover over the group member's name, you will be shown the company that they belong to.
Workplace users own their own data, including any data shared in multi-company groups (MCGs). Subject to applicable local laws, MCG members are free to agree upon the ownership of data in that MCG.
Facebook does not have any rights of ownership to the data among the members of the MCGs.
The admins of a multi-company group (MCG) can delete content, add and remove group members and delete the group itself.
If a group member uses Workplace Advanced, their community admins can access and read all of the content in the multi-company group.
If a group admin uses Workplace Advanced, their community admins can also delete content, add and remove group members and delete the group itself.